Resurrection

You are right, I haven’t given you a decent update in quite some time. So here it goes:

First, after driving it for more than a month, I’ve become much more accustom to the (ahem) nuance of driving such a beast of a vehicle. It’s just like becoming accustom to variations on things you’re familiar with (like sour Skittles).

In the intervening month or two, I did have to take it back to the shop to fix the clutch master cylinder which thought it was a good time to start leaking fluid down the clutch pedal and onto my shoes. Had the weather not been cold and rainy, I may have undertaken the project myself. Instead I found satisfaction in replacing the windshield wiper blades in the parking lot of the parts store. That’s manly.

In recent weeks the weather has gotten considerably better. Good enough to take the Tickford top to the upholsterer to fix the zipper and snaps on the back. In the meantime I have the original bikini top on the truck. Great in theory, but where the top is supposed to snap on the tub is somehow lacking a snap. Oh snap. As a work around I have the strap going over the alpine bar and down to the tub where it snaps with nearly the right amount of tension.

I also put a new stereo in, a fancy Alpine number (please come steal it). The crappy AIWA has been relegated to the scrap heap, as has the steering shock/stabilizer. Last weekend I installed a swanky new OME (Old Man Emu) front stabilizer. I was pressured to put the OME sticker, so there it is. I also put the “A” bar on the front bumper, which looks cool, but obscures vision of the LAND  ROVER 90 sticker on the front grille.

Other than that, with a healthy knock on wood, all seems to be working well. It’s become more fun to drive, and I’m enjoying it more. Maybe even enough to someday put a galvanized frame and TDI engine in it… Stay tuned!

Here’s a couple pics of it as it sits today:

About found90

I'm a guy with limited mechanical capabilities who resorted a mythical "Barn Find" Land Rover Defender 90 for the sole purpose of looking cool and driving to Starbucks
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Resurrection

  1. Rich says:

    Great site! Keep the posts coming!

Leave a comment